This content requires HTML5/CSS3, WebGL, or Adobe Flash Player Version 10 or higher.

History of the Morwell Power Station and Briquette Works

Beginning in 1949
The power station and briquette works were built by the State Electricity Commission of Victoria (SECV) in 1949, when field works on the Morwell open cut mine commenced. It was originally known as the Morwell Power Station.

In the early 1950s briquette production equipment was ordered from Germany, and production at the plant started in 1956, with the briquettes produced being used for domestic and industrial use, as well as town gas production at an adjacent gasworks by the Gas and Fuel Corporation of Victoria.

The Morwell Power Station and Briquette manufacturing plant were originally constructed as a completely integrated facility. The Morwell facility is essentially a large cogeneration power plant design with the industrial process steam necessary for drying the briquetting coal. Morwell Power Station consisted of one 20MW, three 30MW Metropolitan Vickers turbo generators and one 60MW Stal Laval turbo generator. Steam was supplied by pulverized brown coal-fired boilers.

At its peak it could produce up to 180MW and produce in excess of 1,000,000t of briquettes for the Victorian solid fuel market in its associated facility. In its prime the "Morwell Briquette and Power" as it was then known employed around 1,000 people and the power station was designed to be what's known as an "Island Station", which meant it could be used to supply power needed to run start up plant at other power stations in the area if for some reason they all were temporarily shut down.

Privatisation in 1996
The power station and briquette works were split from the SECV in October 1993 and established as a Government Business Enterprise. This entity was purchased from the State entity, the Coal Corporation of Victoria, in 1996 and is now owned by Energy Brix Australia Corporation Pty Ltd (EBAC), a subsidiary of HRL Limited.

Closure in 2014
The Briquette Factory was taken offline for the last time in August 2014. The last boiler and turbine in the power station was taken off on 8 September 2014.

In October 2015, HRL Limited and its subsidiaries were placed in voluntary administration by its directors. This action resulted in EBAC, a subsidiary, being placed into administration. The administrators, PPB Advisory, attempted for over 12 months to find a buyer for the site, however with the pending closure of Hazelwood (one of EBAC's principal product customers) and the unknown and extensive costs for site remediation, an unconditional offer for the site was not received. On this basis, PPB Advisory have decided to undertake the site remediation, to enhance the site value and estimated return to EBAC creditors.

For more information please visit ebacdemolition.com.au

25_xr 66b_bl7 59_bl8 57_bl7 60_bl9 65b_bl7 63b_bl7 64b_bl9 26_txr 68b_bl5 67b_bl5 49_b_l2 55_bl5 54_bl3 24_bxr 23_axr 19_xr1 45_bl2 46_b2cc 50b_l2 51_bl2 52_bl2 53_bl2 22_bl2 20_xl1 48_bg 59b_bg 47_bg
46_b2cc 57_bl7 64b_bl9 61b_bl3 63b_bl7 66b_bl7 45_bl2 51_bl2 53_bl2 52_bl2 59_bl8 60_bl9 67b_bl5 58_bl7 65b_bl7 59_bl8 68b_bl5 55_bl5 54_bl3 47_bg 60bb_l3 25_xr 49_b_l2 50b_l2 48_bg
ch_l3_04 bf_l7_11 ch_machl0_02 ch_l1_02 ch_l3_01 ch_l5_09 ch_l6_06 ch_machl0_01 bf_l2_05 bf_l2_10 bf_l4_08 bf_l6_12 bf_l7_13 bf_l7_03 bf_l6_04 bf_l1_01 bf_l0_04 bf_lb_02 bf_lb_01 bf_l0_03 bf_l2_06 bf_l3_07 bf_l1_02 bf_lb_00 bf_l0_01 bf_l1 bf_l2 bf_l3_01 bf_l6_03 bf_l4_09 bf_l5_02 bf_l5_01 bf_l6_02 bf_l6_01 bf_l7_02
bs_04 bs_03 bs_01
14bunkerl1 cb_08 cb_06 cb_07 13bunker_g rcb_l2node cb_05 cb_04 cb_03 cb_02 cb_01 cb_07 cb_08 cb_06 cb_05 cb_04 cb_03 rcb_l2node cb_02 14bunkerl1 13bunker_g cb_01
loading_03p loading_03p loading_02p loading_02p loading_01p loading_01p
ecr_l1 ecr_l1 ecr_lg ecr_lg ecr_lg_breakers ecr_lg_breakers ecr_tunnel ecr_tunnel
09_xg 08_xg 07_xg 06_xg 05_xr 12bunkerxg_copy 11_xg 10_xg 15_xg 16_xg 25_xr 26_txr 30_xg 31_xg 28_xg 29_xg 27_xg 17_xg 21_bl2 20_xl1 24_bxr 22_bl2 23_axr 19_xr1 18_xg ecr_outside e_24 e_23 e_22 e_00 ws_conveyor_03 ws_conveyor_04 ws_conveyor_05 ws_conveyor_01 ws_conveyor_02 e_13 e_12 TTNL_01 TTNL_02 TTNL_03 e_14 e_11 e_06 e_15 e_16 e_17 e_10 e_07 e_08 e_09 e_04 e_02 e_05 e_25 e_01 e_19 e_20 E_27_Main_Gate
40_tl2 35_tg 37_tg 41_tl2 42_tl2 38_tl1 36_tg 39_tl1 43_tl2 34_tg 44_tl2 33_tg1 32_tg1 34_tg 38_tl1 42_tl2 35_tg 40_tl2 37_tg 41_tl2 32_tg1 44_tl2 33_tg1 43_tl2 39_tl1 36_tg
ws_l2_02 ws_l1_01 ws_l2_02 ws_l1_01 ws_l1_03 ws_l1_03 ws_l2_01 ws_l2_01 ws_l1_04 ws_l1_04 ws_l1_02 ws_l1_02 ws_grnd_flp ws_grnd_flp ws_l3_01 ws_l3_01